BASO 2017 Conference

5th-8th November 2017

Following the sucess of 2016 Joint Annual Conference, BASO~ACS joined forces again with the NCRI in 2017 to deliver the UK's largets cancer conference.

Venue: BT Convention Centre (Kings Dock, Waterfront, Liverpool L3 4FP)

BT Convention C

BASO hosted full surgical track on 5th and 6th November; with a seperate Trainees Meeting (hosted by BASO Trainees) on Sunday, 5th November. The programme showcased the best of surgical research and achievment. The conference had an attendance of nearly 1400 delegates and showcased 50+ educational sessions with an array of plenary lectures,150+ National and International speakers and a large industry and trade presence.

Conference Programme

The following awards were presented by the Association at this meeting:

  • The Ronald Raven Prize was awarded to Mr Yazan S. Khaled, University of Leeds.
  • The BJS Prize Paper was awarded to Mr Gurdeep Mannu, University of Oxford.
  • The BASO Trainees Oral Prize was given to Mr Henry Smith,The Royal Marsden Hospital.
  • The BASO Trainees Poster Prize was awarded to Mr Narendranath Govindarajah, University of Liverpool.

BASO also honoured the plenary awards to:

  • The BASO Raven Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Professor Derek AldersonPresident of the Royal College of Surgeons of England.
  • The Uccio Querci della Rovere Award was presented to Professor Arnie PurushothamProfessor of Breast Cancer, King's College London.
  • The Geoff Oates Award was presented to Ms Karen NugentPast President ACPGBI, Consultant Colorectal Surgeon, Southampton University Hospital.
  • The BASO~ACS Plenary Lecture was presented by Professor Freddie HamdyNuffield Professor of Surgery, University of Oxford.
  • The Ernest Miles Award was presented to Professor Jane BlazebyProfessor of Surgery, University of Bristol.


View Picture Gallery for the meeting

Norwich Norfolk Website Design by 101
Website Design by 101
Contact | Privacy | Terms | Disclaimer | © Copyright